Outlook Online Calendar

The calendar application within Office 365 is the online version of your Outlook calendar. This means that your meetings and appointments will be synced across platforms, so you don’t have to worry about keeping track of two different versions of your calendar. You can also access other calendars in Office 365, such as a shared or department calendar or a Resource Scheduling room calendar. The layout will look unfamiliar if you are used to using Outlook, but many of the same features are available in the online application.

Step-by-Step Guide

How to Access Calendars in Office 365

  1. First, log in to the Office 365 portal
  2. Find the Calendar icon, either by searching on the main portal screen or in Outlook on the navigation bar.
    calendar icon

    calendar icon
     
  3. Click the Calendar icon to open the application.
     

How to Access Your Calendar

When you open the Calendar application, the calendars you were looking at most recently will be displayed. If this is the first time you’ve accessed the online calendar, your individual calendar will display.
calendar display
 

In Office 365, your calendar is simply named “Calendar” and will appear in the left sidebar.
calendary

 

How to Add Another Calendar

If you need to add another calendar, such as a co-worker’s shared calendar or a Resource Scheduling calendar, there is a convenient and simple way to do this in Office 365.

  1. Locate the Add Calendar on the navigation bar your left sidebar menu.
    add calendar link
     
  2. Select From directory in the navigation menu on your left sidebar menu. 
    Image showing directory option in navigation menu
     
  3. In the pop-up box, type the person’s name whose calendar you want to open (last name first) or the name of the Resource Scheduling calendar.
    add calendar search
     
  4. If the the person or room name doesn’t appear, select Search Directory for more options.
    search directory
     
  5. After you find the correct calendar, select Add. The calendar will open and be added to your left sidebar menu.
    add button

     

How to View Multiple Calendars

To open multiple calendars at a time, simply click on the calendar names in your left sidebar. You can assigned each calendar with its own color to help you differentiate between them. Calendars without a check mark have not been selected. The default calendar view in Office 365 is the current month. Again, your calendar will be named “Calendar” instead of your actual name. 

Image showing multiple calendar option


To close one of the calendars you have open, hover over the circle next to the name and click to uncheck it.

image showing option to un-select calendar
 

How to Use Split View for Multiple Calendars

If you’re used to looking at multiple calendars where each has its own column, you will need to switch from month to day view in Office 365. Click the Day link at the top right of the display.

image showing day view option in calendar

This view will create separated columns for each calendar you have open.

Viewing multiple calendars in split view.
 

How to Share Your Calendar

  1. To share your calendar via Office 365, click the Share button at the top of the display.
    Sharing your calendar.

     
  2. Enter the name of the person you want to share your calendar with (last name first).
    calendar sharing and permissions
     
  3. Either select their name from the suggestions or choose Search people for more options.
  4. Choose their permission level for your calendar.
    image showing permission options
     
    1. Can view when I’m busy - This option allows the person to see that you are either “Busy” or “Free,” but does not give them any details about your calendar.
    2. Can view titles and locations - The person can view the name and location of the event, but no details or attached files.
    3. Can view all details - This option allows the person to open and view all of the event details.
    4. Can edit - The person can see all details and edit events on your calendar.
    5. Delegate - This option designates the person as your delegate, meaning they can view all event details, edit events, and respond to event invitations for you. 
  5. After you’ve chosen their permission level, select Share and the person will receive an email letting them know you’ve shared your calendar with them
    share button
     

To request help related to this article, please see our Service Catalog.

Print Article

Details

Article ID: 91010
Created
Thu 10/31/19 1:17 PM
Modified
Wed 8/23/23 7:31 PM